Face Forward | Typography Conference

11.12.2015 –

Dublin Institute of Technology, Typography Ireland, GradCAM

Face Forward is an international, peer-reviewed conference focused on typography that seeks to examine design and typographic practice, and to make explicit existing connections between craft, research, theory, history, criticism and pedagogy. This conference aims to provoke informed, rigorous and critical debate on aspects of typographic research and practice that relate to current discourse and contexts. It is the inaugural event in what will become an annual international conference.


In the field of visual communication and typographic practice, a great deal of epistemological uncertainty still exists. As a consequence, concrete theoretical or methodological positions around which the discipline could cohere have yet to emerge—a situation this conference seeks to address.


The conference will provide a forum for research into typographic production, representation, dissemination and use. It encourages interdisciplinary enquiry. In addition to the main tracks, the conference will also feature a dedicated student strand, with contributions from both undergraduates and postgraduates.


The following speakers have now been confirmed:


Keynote speaker: Tobias Frere-Jones


Speakers include: Phil Baines/Silvia Barbero/Jesus Barrientos Mora/Sukanya Baskar/Clare Bell/Johannes Bergerhausen/Ann Bessemans/Mary Ann Bolger/Giulia Bonora/ Teresa Breathnach/Ruth Brolly/Tomas Brousil/Sheena Calvert/Pauline Clancy/Diederik Corvers/Crystian Cruz/Nathan Davis/Jo De Baerdemaeker/Daniele De Rosa/Brenda Dermody/Kollontai Diniz/Brian Dixon/Dan Docherty/Timothy Donaldson/Michael Everson/Leire Fernández Iñurritegui/Tom Foley/Robin Fuller/Denise Gonzales Crisp/Tom Grace/Paul Guinnan/Joey Hannaford/John-Daniel Harrington/Eduardo Herrera Fernández/Cassie Hester/Will Hill/ Maria Inês Cruz/Tiphaine Kazi-Tani/Hilary Kenna/Lisa Kirkham/Trond Klevgaard/James Leahy/Marcus Leis Allion/Gerry Leonidas/Mathieu Lommen/Glenn Loughran/Juan Luis Blanco/Robert Lzicar/Brian MacRory/Jamie Mahoney/Peter Maybury/Thomas Mayo/Liam McComish/Niall McCormack/Richard McElveen/Dermot McGuinne/Ian Montgomery/Aoife Mooney/John Mulloy/Silas Munro/Jason Murdock/Jamie Murphy/Siobhán Murphy/Meta Newhouse/Eithne Ni Dhugain/Naoise Ó Conchubhair/Annette O'Sullivan/Özlem Özkal/Aspasia Papadima/Amy Papaelias/María Pérez Mena/ Luciano Perondi/Joana Pestana/Pavel Pisklakov/Mary Plunkett/Jeff Pulaski/Rathna Ramanathan/Kyle Rath/Dan Reynolds/Lozana Rossenova/Max Ryan/Sumanthri Samarawickrama/Mohammad Shahid/Radek Sidun/Lorena Skopelja/Gabriel Solomons/Tom Spalding/Jill Spratt/Irene Stracuzzi/Marcus Swan/Keith Tam/Barrie Tullett/Dharmalingam Udaya Kumar/Connell Vaughan/Elena Veguillas/Onur Yazicigil/Nick Zamsa/Evripides Zantides/


This year's conference is supported by ID2015 and the Dublin Institute of Technology.

Dublin Institute of Technology, Typography Ireland, GradCAM

DIT Grangegorman Campus, Dublin

DIT Grangegorman Campus, 7 Grangegorman Lower, Dublin, Ireland

Collect your favourites by creating an account

By signing up, I agree to the ID2015 Website Terms of Service and Privacy Policy.

Already have an account? Log In →

Log in to your account

Forgot your Password?

Don’t have an account? Create one now →